Poets logo

I'm Tired

Just. Tired.

By Obsidian WordsPublished 2 months ago 1 min read
10
I'm Tired
Photo by Ephraim Mayrena on Unsplash

I'm tired.

I'm tired as if the marrow of my bones are recalling the last time they knew the sunlight.

I'm tired, like my eyes could weep the tears of waterfalls long dried.

I'm tired, like my soul never stopped searching for the lives it left behind each time it was reborn.

I'm tired and coffee is just anxiety administered through direct injection and sleep is like a band-aid on an amputation.

I'm as tired as Atlas and the world or Sisyphus and his stone.

I'm tired as if it is me that spends the night tugging and pushing the tides into motion.

I'm tired, like my spine is made of concrete and my feet are filled with lead.

I'm tired and the hinges of my eyelids won't listen to me anymore.

I'm so tired I don't know what it is to be awake anymore.

I'm tired.

Just.

Tired.

slam poetryProseFree Verse
10

About the Creator

Obsidian Words

Fathomless is the mind full of stories.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • Flamance @ lit.18 days ago

    Great job congratulations

  • Amanda Starks22 days ago

    I'm on a bit of a rampage through your work ( if you couldn't tell from the notification spam xD ) but wow this was brutally honest and the comparisons/references to different "bearers" or tired people (tm) was SO clever!! Atlas & Sisyphus were excellent choices. I can relate to this from the angle of depression and what chronic anxiety can do to your energy and motivation. I have other things too that I deal with that impact my energy levels but my god...yeah, this was damn near a perfect poem to represent that feeling of bone-weary tiredness.

  • Kelsey Clarey2 months ago

    I am definitely feeling this lately, and you captured it so well.

  • You capture the feeling of fatigue very well in this. I absolutely feel this. Especially with the coffee. Tired...but faster and more jittery now! Great job.

  • Trinity H2 months ago

    I cannot express how much I love this poem. You've taken such a versatile subject and touched on every aspect of it. "I'm tired, like my soul never stopped searching for the lives it left behind each time it was reborn." Is such a raw and personal line, I feel like I've lived it before. Honestly? One of the best poems I've read.

  • Alex H Mittelman 2 months ago

    I’m tired too! Why, I don’t know! Well written!!

  • Manisha Dhalani2 months ago

    I completely resonate!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.