Poets logo

Graveyard Boquet

Song Lyrics

By Obsidian WordsPublished 3 months ago 2 min read
Top Story - February 2024
26
Graveyard Boquet
Photo by Tamara Shchypchynska on Unsplash

Inspired by various alternative grunge and metal songs as well as the dark, depraved stories that I read more than I breathe, I decided to write a song that represents a blending of those two loves of mine. I am no musician, I bearly have a melody for this, but if anyone is interested I'd love to hear people make something of it for fun!

I have this ache in my chest

Buried deep inside

A grave I dug with fingernails

A place for you to hide

In the wind, I hear your moans

My ribs cracking headstones

My lungs are full of your bones

Gardens tattooed on my skin

Ready to give in to it all

I’m whispering a sirens' call

A serenade before I fall

Like petals in the wind

CHORUS

I want to resurrect you

Pull apart, dissect you

(Pull apart, dissect you)

See what secrets I can find

I want to look in your eyes

Pull apart the grey skies

(Pull apart the grey skies)

I refuse to be denied

Promises like chalk art

I spill graffiti on your skin

Begging, when can we start

Won't let the Reaper win

You look so still I'm breaking

My breath you keep on taking

These wounds I can't be faking

I’m shredded by the thorns

The world is full of smoke now

I'm made of ash and bone, how

Do I take that last bow

They're throwing flowers at my feet

CHORUS

I want to resurrect you

Pull apart, dissect you

(Pull apart, dissect you)

See what secrets I can find

I want to look in your eyes

Pull apart the grey skies

(Pull apart the grey skies)

Don't you dare leave me behind

I will cut myself wide open

Spill this crimson blood

Can't stop myself from hopin’

We can sink beneath this flood

I smile as I'm drowning

A thank you on my lips

Praying you won't leave me

My sanity, it slips

You creep inside me gently

Tucked against my heart

You tell me that you love me

You tear my flesh apart

CHORUS

I want to resurrect us

Pull apart, dissect us

Shred the veil inbetween

I want to steal your grey eyes

Paint the night on fresh sky's

Take the things that can't be seen

I have this ache in my chest

Buried deep inside

A grave I dug with fingernails

Where we lay now side by side

(Where we lay side by side)

Song Lyrics
26

About the Creator

Obsidian Words

Fathomless is the mind full of stories.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (12)

Sign in to comment
  • Flamance @ lit.about a month ago

    Great story

  • olymoolla3 months ago

    Your stat is challenging your story is so beautiful you write like this you will be a great writer I wish and yes one more thing please open my vocal id and a story come later

  • Anna 3 months ago

    Congrats on Top Story!!

  • This song lyrics hit deep, painting a haunting picture of longing and desperation that lingers long after the last note fades.

  • 789J3 months ago

    Tiềm năng lợi nhuận lớn: Với một mức đặt cược nhất định, việc dự đoán kèo tỷ số chính xác có thể mang lại lợi nhuận lớn hơn so với các loại cược khác. chi tiết: https://789j.one/keo-ty-so-chinh-xac/

  • Manisha Dhalani3 months ago

    Congrats on top story!

  • Joe Patterson3 months ago

    Great song, congratulations on top story.

  • Trinity H3 months ago

    i don’t have a musical bone in my body but i could hear this so vividly. “a grave i dug with my fingernails where we now lay side by side” the desperation!!!! the visceral need!!! so so good

  • Cathy holmes3 months ago

    This is great. Inbound myself trying to sing along.

  • I could pull out every line since I liked this so much but these in particular, "My ribs cracking headstones / My lungs are full of your bones" struck me as incredibly powerful. I loved this! But then again, I love grunge and metal too! Great job and Congrats on the Top Story!

  • Amanda Starks3 months ago

    I love this so so much!!! I was trying to think of different melodies as I went through it. It's so beautifully written! If you like grungy/alternative music with beautiful lyrics like this, I highly recommend Sleep Token!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.