Poets logo

I’m the Fool

- Sweet pea

By Jake TrammellPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
3
I’m the Fool
Photo by Jong Marshes on Unsplash

“I wander around aimlessly, hopelessly and eternally lost. It’s like an inside joke that’s ran it’s course. Show me on the map where I’m at, and I’ll run in circles. Give me the coordinates to our destination, I’ll wake up a thousand miles away. Can’t help but laugh at how helpless I am. God I’m a fool, that map points to you. I’d laugh if I knew how to read it, but I’ll just run away from the end point. Why would I deserve to be there, with you. I’m off course, directionless and hopeless. Man over board, no chance at rescue. I’m a lost fool, scratching at the wood panels; treading water. You’re waiting for the rendezvous, but drowning to get away. It’s a disaster waiting to happen, why would I meet up with it.

How do we keep circling back around, landing on the same point? I’m helplessly lost, waiting for a chance to jump back on board. I’ve been gone for too long, and I don’t know what I’m doing anymore. Been running so long, I wound back up where I was running from. I’m a fool for not taking this chance a thousand miles ago, but here I am now; and the opportunity as slipped from my hands again. Possibly for the last time.

Where’d the time go? I thought I’d have more to play with, but there you went; walking away from me.”

sad poetry
3

About the Creator

Jake Trammell

I write things I could never speak aloud. Usually in the form of poetry or short stories. One day I’d like to write a novel.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.