Poets logo

I'm Proud Of You

Just Because

By Cathy DeslippePublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
I'm Proud Of You
Photo by Nick Fewings on Unsplash

From the time you were young, I could see it in your eyes.

Determination, courage and some a surprise.

The moment you took steps when you were too small.

To playing soccer and kicking that ball.

Do not always listen but do it your way.

You grew up way too fast.

I only wish I could reverse time and go back to the past.

For as you grew, life got harder for you.

Making friends, and sticking to.

The goals that you made and hoped would be.

The beginning of a life that I only wished we could see.

Now you struggle and it is hard for us to look on.

You work so hard, I hope you can stay strong.

Hoping the demons in life do not attack you.

Alcohol, drugs or being with those that wrong is what they do.

Right now I see you work hard, do your best.

For when I see that it is easier for us to rest.

Do not look back at the struggles you have come through.

Go forward, look in the mirror and be proud of you.

Not for what others may think or say.

For the person, you have become today.

The biggest step is to say I am number one.

Believe it, life has just begun.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Cathy Deslippe

Catherine Deslippe

At the age of 7, I became an author. I am an international writer with many authors; all royalties went to cancer patients without insurance. I used to write to cope, but now I write to bring others hope.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.