Poets logo

I’m not mad at you I’m just mad

Yes, I will admit after all this I wanted him. I will admit this is a poem and I wrote it for you.

By Joe NastaPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
I’m not mad at you I’m just mad
Photo by Brent Jones on Unsplash

If you want to read a poem

this isn’t a poem this isn’t a poem for you

if you want to read poetry go

somewhere far away

maybe to Kodiak Alaska

maybe to the North Pacific

Ocean

that’s where poems live

not here this

this is just words

to look at, look at them don’t

read oh wait, you already

started thinking who

I am what

you want

so go plunge

yr face a bucket ice

as long as you can stand

blue lips are so sexy

matching yr veins distinctly

under eyelids matching the bags

packed go as far into nothing as

you can Kodiak is an island the most

remote Walmart in the world when I self-

checkouted my pamplemousse my grindr

dinged good la croix flavor even in the most

remote Walmart people think

you are exactly what I want

it wasn’t a poem & all I had were poems and pamplemousse la croix

I was too drunk and had to work

in the morning he waited until

I was too many miles away from him

a want an expect-

ation worth thirty dollars

in cab fare.

He must have been lonely to be twenty-two and gay in Kodiak and I’m a bitch

because unfortunately I am a person. Yes, I will admit after all this I wanted him.

I will admit this is a poem and I wrote it for you.

heartbreak
1

About the Creator

Joe Nasta

Hi! I'm a queer multimodal artist writing love poems in Seattle, one half of the art and poetry collective Eat Yr Manhood, and head curator of Stone Pacific Zine. Work in The Rumpus, Occulum, Peach Mag, dream boy book club, and others. :P

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.