Poets logo

I’m mute

The words just won’t

By Shelby Hagood Published 2 months ago 1 min read

I’m mute

The words just won’t

I push for them, but no

Trying to find ways to express

myself

Gestures

Sensory cues

Let me hum by your ear

Touch my hand and squeeze so hard, yes

I’ll show

Words, no

They are not all

That a person has there

Not just a boring character

Mouth closed

Listen

Watch my body

I can still interact

Still be in the conversation

Purpose

You write

A mute story

Had them talk later on

That is how you developed them?

So lame

They can

Still be someone

And stay mute to the end

I’ll show you silent characters

Writing

Triumph

In your hard work

To create a loved mute

Without the cutting of corners

Success

Cinquain

About the Creator

Shelby Hagood

Warner Bros and Disney 💕

Cat lover 🐱

Love fancy chocolate 🍫

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

  • Emil indw2 months ago

    Bringing the soul of writing to life even though they are only words that are never spoken :)

  • Andrea Corwin 2 months ago

    Body language, facial expressions...loved your poem!

Shelby Hagood Written by Shelby Hagood

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.