Poets logo

I’m, Free…but

A poem inspired by Juneteenth.

By Joe PattersonPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
1

I’m free, but they think my humanity equates to a joke and it will be a hundred years before I’m able to vote. My everyday will be an uphill fight that I can do nothing about because I have no rights.

I’m free, but every day will be a fight for me because I’m told to be viewed as a menace to society. It’s like I’ll keep getting ravaged by harassment, all because of the stigma that says I am a savage.

I’m free, but my liberty is regulated and I’m always kept in an area that’s segregated. If I try to leave it you’ll see me running back. If I get too far then there’s no coming back.

I'm free, but every day life is a test that leaves me stressed because I have to prove I'm the best and not the worse case scenario who is always worthy of wrongful arrest.

I’m free, but they see my people and don’t trust us. Living in a system super plagued by injustice. It doesn’t matter if I did the crime because they say my skin color is the perfect fit for crime.

I’m free, but I’ll always be labeled as a threat, so you can bet that anger will always be the outlet. I’m free, but my every breath is a roll of the dice to see if my freedom comes at a price.

I'm free, but I'm still fighting a beast in a never ending fight for peace. I'm free, but the chains of slavery continue to follow me and I'm in a never ending war for equality.

social commentary
1

About the Creator

Joe Patterson

Hi I'm Joe Patterson. I am a writer at heart who is a big geek for film, music, and literature, which have all inspired me to be a writer. I rap, write stories both short and long, and I'm also aspiring to be an author and a filmmaker.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.