Poets logo

I'm Done

I'm done with your games.

By Thomas FletcherPublished about a year ago 2 min read
1
Source: PictureQuotes.com

I'm accepting that I'm

Never going to get

An answer from you

About what happened

And why things are

The way they are

Between us

I realized you don't

Respect me enough

To be willing to

Give me even that,

You're one of the

Biggest hypocrites

I have ever known

You complain about

The people who

Gave up on you

And left you

But then you

Turn around and

Do it yourself to

Other people that

Cared about you,

But I guess it's okay

For you to do it

Because you're not

The one that's

Getting hurt right?

I always held tight

To our friendship

Every time you disappeared

Without a word

I always tried finding

Reasons to keep trying

I'd message you still

Knowing you probably

Weren't going to respond

Or even look at the messages

But I still fought

For our friendship because

I truly cared about you,

I'll always admit that

I messed up first

But I thought I made

That up to you and

That it was in the past

But it felt like you

Were still holding it

Against me every time

You'd disappear suddenly,

And every time you

Would do that

I wouldn't listen to

Certain songs because

They reminded me that

The person who was supposed

To be my best friend

Didn't care enough to stay

Or even make an effort to,

And every time you'd

Come back around

You always told me

The same exact reason

For you disappearing

Without elaborating

On it any further

Nothing ever got resolved,

And I understand that

Having mental health issues

Can be extremely difficult

To deal with but

When that's the same reason

Over and over again

Then even that ends up

Just being an excuse,

Did you ever consider how

It made me feel whenever

You would disappear like that?

Or that I might

Have been struggling too?

Did you ever consider

That you weren't the

Only one feeling like

You were stuck in a dark place?

Even the time that

You came back when

I really needed someone

And I'll admit it kept me

From falling any lower

You still disappeared

Not even a week later

For another six

Or seven months,

But you allowed

Other people to

Stay in your life

During those times,

And then when you

Did come back for awhile

You'd say that your

Other best friend and I

Meant the same

Amount to you but

Never give the same

Effort towards our friendship,

Then I ended up having

A bad breakdown

And instead of being

A best friend to me

You left me when

I needed you the most

And then replaced me

Even though you knew

What I was dealing with,

And to make it worse

I defended you and

Argued with someone

That actually values me

And my friendship with her

And it's funny how she

Ended up being right

About you,

And now I realize

That the reason I

Was scared any time

You wouldn't respond

For awhile was because

You added to my trauma

With people disappearing

On me because you

Did it so many times,

The only way I'd be

Friends with you again

Is if you grew up

And learned how

To communicate

Because I'm done

With playing your

Childish games.

sad poetryheartbreak
1

About the Creator

Thomas Fletcher

I like writing short stories, poetry, and probably eventually novels too. I enjoy reading those types of writings as well. I also enjoy listening to music, playing video games, and playing and watching basketball.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.