Poets logo

I'm Afraid

Fear is power.

By Becca MPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like

I love music.

I love reading,

The way stories come to life in words,

Yet those same words can terrify me when spoken.

I am afraid of heights,

The dark,

Spiders,

A man's unwanted grip,

My ex boyfriend,

People,

Crowds,

The supermarket,

Hell, even my therapist's office.

Anxiety is strange.

Fear is confusing to me.

I've always said I'm afraid of what I shouldn't be,

But when I should be scared I'm not.

I think the calmest I've been was heading head first into an oncoming car on a motorcycle.

But I panic when a stranger looks at me a second too long.

I can't shower when I'm home alone because I imagine noises into existence and have a panic attack.

I've been close to death 3 times in my life, and have not once been scared of it.

Yet I have anxiety every day about 'normal' things.

I cry if someone knocks on the door.

I panic when I hear footsteps on my apartment building stairs.

My nightmares keep me up at night.

I don't think it's death I'm afraid of...

I think it's life.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Becca M

Hi! I'm 22 years old, I love music, and live off of Cherry Pepsi and books. I love writing poetry about my experiences, my battle with mental illness, and my emotions. 🖤

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.