Poets logo

I lost myself in the mayhem of life

Where the commotion of the world muffled my voice

By NoonajPublished 15 days ago 1 min read

I lost myself in the mayhem of life

Where the commotion of the world muffled my voice

I became a stranger to my reflection

A phantom floating as the days progressed

I used to know who I was

But somewhere along the way, I disappeared

Lost in the expectations for other people

Lost in the demands of society

I attempted to satisfy everybody

But in the process, I forgot about myself

I lost my enthusiasm, my dreams, my flash

I turned into a shell of who I used to be

But deep down, I knew I couldn't keep going on like this

I expected to find myself once more

To rediscover the person I used to be

So I made a stride back

And began to pay attention to my own heart

I began to follow my own way

To pursue my own dreams

I let go of the expectations

And the requirement for endorsement

I embraced my flaws and imperfections

And learned to love myself again

I found my voice in the silence

And rediscovered the strength inside me

I understood that I didn't should be awesome

I just needed to be true to myself

So presently I stand here, more grounded than previously

With a renewed sense of purpose

I might have lost myself once

But now I know that I can always find my way back.

Stream of ConsciousnessFree Verse

About the Creator

Noonaj

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    NoonajWritten by Noonaj

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.