Poets logo

I lost my shoe,

walking away when it all becomes too much

By Jeannine KauffmannPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 1 min read
I lost my shoe,
Photo by Barthelemy de Mazenod on Unsplash

I lost my shoe,

my new shoe, never worn just in the shop,

in front of the mirror.

How did that happen?

Did I just walk out with the one I was trying on for size?

Did I even pay for it?

I lost my bearing in the woods.

I had gone with my friends for a Sunday afternoon stroll.

Then somehow, they were gone, and it was only me.

Where are they?

I called out, no answer,

I walk on,

On the straight and narrow path.

I lost the light,

my flat is dark and darker at night.

Just in the day time it is nice, on a sunny day ,

I get a lot of light, then.

I can’t pay my electricity

my shower is cold,

my food is cold too.

I lost you.

There was a message stuck to my door,

Could I call in at the police station?

And a leaflet for the newly bereaved attached to it.

I kept the key in my hand, turned around

And never went back in.

fact or fiction

About the Creator

Jeannine Kauffmann

Poetry writer in the early morning. Poetry as a wake up call. Then later I draw lines and colours. I have a page on Instagram my art other than words although it contains words too. Titles are important to finish a piece like a full stop.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Jeannine KauffmannWritten by Jeannine Kauffmann

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.