Poets logo

I'll write tomorrow

But today I mean it. Right?

By Lucas RaePublished about a year ago 1 min read
5
I'll write tomorrow
Photo by Ivo Konings on Unsplash

I sit down at my desk to write,

But my mind wanders, oh what a sight!

Procrastination takes the lead,

As I check my phone and scroll through feed.

Perfectionism again takes the floor,

I write and rewrite, but want more,

My words must be just right, you see,

Or else they'll be plain mediocrity.

And then there's the constant worry,

Of subscribers and earnings, oh how they hurry,

One day they soar, the next they dip,

Leaving me in a constant flip.

But as I finish this rhyme,

I check my stats one more time,

And see the numbers fluctuate,

Making me want to procrastinate.

Insecurity then takes a turn,

My doubts and fears begin to churn,

Who am I to write this tale,

Will anyone read, or will it just fail?

So I shrug and put down my pen,

And think, "I'll write tomorrow, yet again."

performance poetry
5

About the Creator

Lucas Rae

wisdomblade.com

nepalearn.com

wisdomblade.com

nepalearn.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Kristen Balyeatabout a year ago

    Perfect!

  • Sneha Pradhanabout a year ago

    Feel this! Progress over perfection, right?

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.