Poets logo

I’ll do better today

A poem from me to you, Thank you! A quilt to put away

By BBPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
2
I’ll do better today
Photo by Erik Mclean on Unsplash

It’s kind of like a sheet

A quilt or so, if you say.

My words too shallow

so mean and sharp

I end up just feeling so hollow

They’re vicious and cruel

Ravenous teeth drip with drool

It’s careless and heartless

A perpetuating duel.

But within don’t you see

Not with your eyes

My poor soul

But within oh within

Oh My mind on a roll

It spirals and flips

All decisions are splits

Admiration is out

And my anger is stout

Be better be smarter

Don’t do all of that

Stop being so worthless

Just one more night cap

Goals out the window

My work all undone

I try and I try

But my seams been unstrung

I’m trapped in a hole

Of not “good enough”

Despite whats around me

I just treat myself rough

I don’t see what I do

I don’t feel tall and proud

I just beat myself up...

And withdraw from the crowd

I get in my head

My brainwash was real

I’m useless I’m nothing

I’ll never REALLY feel.

And then, as for this sheet,

This quilt, or so if you say

I fold up that dark place

And put that shit away.

My days are bright

My lungs work alright

I’ll Remember INNER light

And prepare for another day.

heartbreak
2

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.