Poets logo

I Lived For a Day

I hear voices, happy voices, and rejoicing all around

By A Rustic Mind (Manali Desai)Published 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
I Lived For a Day
Photo by Drew Hays on Unsplash

I hear voices, happy voices, and rejoicing all around,

As the news of my soon arrival starts doing the rounds.

Though I'm just beginning to take form,

By happiness and blessings, I'm already being swamped.

Everyone takes such good care of my mother and me,

We're always surrounded by love, good food, and all-around glee.

Mom and dad talk about me all the time,

With kicks, I sometimes respond to put in my chime.

My mother's tummy begins to swell,

As I slowly grow within her protective shell.

They do not yet know if I'm a girl or a boy,

I hope, this, in no way, affects their happiness and joy.

In a few days, I become too big for the womb,

I want to get out as for breathing and moving I need more room.

That's when my mother begins to scream in pain,

Because all I wanted was to come out of this reign.

Soon the agony ended for her and me,

And for the first time my parents I could see.

Mother looks tired but happy as she holds me in her arms,

Father stays distant and unaffected by my presence and charms.

In just a few hours I encounter all human emotions and behavior,

My mother's yelling, screaming, pleading, and crying, failed to be my savior.

I was snatched and taken away by my own father,

Who threw into a dump without any bother?

Oh! Mother, the foul smell is suffocating me,

And there is only darkness around as far as I can see.

But it is the ants and insects tearing into my skin that hurt more,

As slowly the numbness engulfs me, and I see your happy face as I enter another door.

performance poetry
Like

About the Creator

A Rustic Mind (Manali Desai)

Author | Editor | Blogger | Literary Critic | Freelance Writer | Content Creator |

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.