Poets logo

I lied

Poetry

By Emily Farraige Published 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
I lied
Photo by Eric Ward on Unsplash

When my psychiatrist asked me when was the last time I thought I should kill myself,

I lied.

When my psychologist asked me if I had gone through sexual abuse,

I lied.

I lied so many times that I started to believe it myself.

I forgot my pain, my abuse, my loneliness.

I was so happy that I didn’t realize that my demons were eating me from the inside, pushing me back under, facing my reality.

But this time I don’t want to end up dead,

Not for me but for the person who I love more than anything else in this world.

He’s my light in this darkness.

He is always there to catch me when I feel like I’m falling.

He loves me for who I am,

Unlike my abuser that was supposed to be the one

that loved me unconditionally..

He is a master of pretending.

He fools everyone into thinking that he is a some kind of saint,

But in reality he is monster that only cares about himself.

I’m tried of hiding and being scared.

I need to open up my box of demons to heal.

I don’t want to keep going to bed thinking that this is the night that he is going to come back for revenge..

So I’m going to be honest.

I wanted to kill myself yesterday and every day before that,

However no matter how much I want to.. I’m not going going to let my demons win.

And yes, I was sexually abused.

But I won’t let that ruin my life.

..................................................................

PLEASE NOTE THAT YOU CAN GET HELP IF YOU OR YOUR LOVE ONE WAS SEXUALLY ABUSED AND ITS OK. IT IS NOT YOUR FAULT.

https://trccmwar.ca/our-services/24-hour-crisis-line/

performance poetry
Like

About the Creator

Emily Farraige

Hi!

My name is Emily. I’m disabled and in a wheelchair. I love fashion and pop culture. I’m a burlesque dancer. I just want to keep it honest about my daily experiences, and hopefully help people.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.