Poets logo

Disability

Poetry

By Emily Farraige Published 3 years ago 1 min read
1

Disability,

Yes it’s a scary word.

But it’s not like a horror movie where you are the monster.

Yes I know it seems very sad.

But if you are born into one you don’t really know anything different.

I spent my entire life with a disability.

I been in and out of the hospital since my earliest memories.

I been stare at until I block them out.

I been called “it.”

When I wanted to be called pretty.

And I been called “ a waste of space.”

When I was at my lowest.

But I also been called “ a miracle “ and “ aspiring” for just getting out of my house.

My life is bigger than a room.

I can’t change the cards that I was given.

I just have to live my life to the fullest as much as I can.

Disability and depression,

Is an horrible but is common place.

You feel like you can’t get help,

Because you can’t find a doctor that can fit your needs in their office.

You feel trap inside of your disability,

Like a criminal inside a prison.

Screaming until your vocal chords turn num to the pain of no one hearing your cries.

Totally alone waiting for your days with your demons.

Wait a minute..

You didn’t commit a crime.

Disability love,

Isn’t a well know situation but more common than you think.

I want to love and to be loved.

But society paints a picture of disability as unlovable.

Society paints a picture of the person that loves me as “a hero.”

Why does society think I can’t be desirable?

Why does society think I can’t make someone happy?

Yes I know it’s difficult and believe me I wish it wasn’t.

But disability can be sexy.

Knowledge is power.

Knowledge is the seed of the tree to our future.

That’s why I’m writing this.

And if you have a problem with it,

You are just apart of the system ,

of this island of isolation.

I just want to have some respect,

And to be treated like a person.

That’s all I ask.

Disability,

Yes it’s a scary word..

But we are still human.

performance poetry
1

About the Creator

Emily Farraige

Hi!

My name is Emily. I’m disabled and in a wheelchair. I love fashion and pop culture. I’m a burlesque dancer. I just want to keep it honest about my daily experiences, and hopefully help people.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.