Poets logo

I Know I Am A Writer

This is how I know

By Judey Kalchik Published about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
20
https://pixabay.com/users/ramdlon-710044/

I know I am a writer.

Not because I have it tattooed on my neck

But because the words crawl along the inside of my skin

Seeking for an exit to the world

Teasing me with their whispers

Promising me their relevance

Aching to be seen.

*/\*/\*/\*/\*/\*/\*/\*/\*/\*/\*/\*/\*/\*/\*/\*/\*/\*

I know I am a writer.

Not because I have won fame and acclaim

But because I trail slips and snippets of thought behind me

Turns of phrases seeking their turns

Arcs about alliteration anxiously anticipating announcements

Ideas that need more time

Notes to self.

*/\*/\*/\*/\*/\*/\*/\*/\*/\*/\*/\*/\*/\*/\*/\*/\*/\*

I know I am a writer.

Not because the public clamors my name

But because my skin settles and smooths after I complete a piece

My dreams are crystal, soothing warmth, and restful

My breath exhales 'There's that, then'

I pat my keyboard, pushing the raft afloat on the current of time

It will be here long after I am gone.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------

Freebie #1: Let me know in the comments, if you like: how do you know you are a writer?

Freebie #2: Here is another one of my poems, very different but you may enjoy.

Freebie #3, for those that need to know who I am besides a writer:

Freebie #4: You have so MUCH power as a reader! Did you know all of the ways you can interact with what you read on Vocal?

  • Leave 'hearts' and 'comments' on posts you enjoy. This one, for instance!
  • Subscribe to the writers that write the stuff you like.
  • Leave a Tip for an article that you enjoyed and/or opened your eyes to something new.
  • Share the stuff you like on your own social media and you will delight a writer for days!

performance poetry
20

About the Creator

Judey Kalchik

It's my time to find and use my voice.

Poetry, short stories, memories, and a lot of things I think and wish I'd known a long time ago.

You can also find me on Medium

And please follow me on Threads, too!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

Add your insights

Comments (13)

Sign in to comment
  • Sonia Heidi Unruhabout a year ago

    This poem makes me glad to be a reader of poetry. I feel the same satisfied breath--"there's that then," as the raft settles for a time on the shore of my attention. Thank you for giving us your words!

  • Sandra Matosabout a year ago

    "It will be here long after I am gone." This is my favorite line from your poem, "I know I am a Writer" Just one sentence sums up the very reason that I create.

  • Babs Iversonabout a year ago

    Fabulous!!!

  • Rick Henry Christopher about a year ago

    Good read! Good job!

  • Dean F. Hardyabout a year ago

    Ahh, lovely stuff.

  • Novel Allenabout a year ago

    Wonderful words, when you love something it keeps calling you. That is how you know you are a writer. Hearted and subscribed.

  • sleepy draftsabout a year ago

    I love this!! So relatable, and perfectly put. ❤️

  • This was super relatable!

  • Knucklez Deverauxabout a year ago

    This.. This should be a writer's anthem.

  • Mariann Carrollabout a year ago

    Nice👌

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    You are a wonderful writer with such a gift. Loved this poem, it spoke to me :)

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Yes, you are indeed. Great poem.

  • I still don't rate myself as a writer but I try again every day , and I trust the opinions of my friends and audience on my talent over my own. Then I start to worry that it I do believe I can write I will suddenly be rubbish. Great words

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.