Poets logo

I Hope the Sky Falls

.

By CotardDelusionzPublished 9 months ago 2 min read
Like
Image created with midjourney

I look up at the sky

So beautiful and vast

I stretch my arms out to the sky

Hoping it will fall on me

But no matter how far I reach, it doesn't get any closer.

I want the sky to fall onto the surface and encompass everything I see

Like heaven on earth

A sea of blue, gleaming with golden light that breaks through the thin clouds, sprinkling warmth onto the skin, so comforting that goosebumps ripple over your body.

I take my eyes away from the sky and look ahead of me with my arms still stretched wide. It's As if the sky was never there. The light doesn't reach here. Before me, no, all around me is an endless sea of darkness with fierce black flames that dance and crackle erratically, whipping the air so harshly it pierces my ears and makes them bleed. In the fire are fallen angels with rolled-back eyes engulfed in black flames whose wings have been almost completely burnt off. And they feast on us. We outnumbered them numerously, but all they had to do was wait, and we came to them on a silver platter. I watch one of them as they eat it. Its meal is desperately flinging around and screaming, trying to escape from its hold, but the angel doesn't even struggle and sinks its teeth into the man's throat; the blood squirts and sprays all over his body as he flails around. I watch as he slowly disappears, and he looks back at me with his scared, dying eyes. I can't do anything but point to the sky, but before he can look up, his blood covers his eyes, and his face disappears into the darkness.

In this darkness, our blood appears black. The sea of darkness I stand in is a sea of blood. All around me are the corpses and blood of humanity. Nothing out of this world came for us. We destroyed ourselves. We played God, and God could no longer save us. What is taking place now is just the clean-up, the leftovers of our destruction. I see an angel watching me from a distance with its white rolled-back eyes, but I don't run or try to disappear in the black sea. I look back up to the sky and let the flames reach me. As my body burns, I pretend it's the sun's warmth, and I let the sky encompass my view as if it has fallen to the surface.

surreal poetrysocial commentary
Like

About the Creator

CotardDelusionz

I have Bpd, Ocd, Adhd, and MDD. Most of the things I write will be an expression of that in a desperate attempt to keep my sanity.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.