Poets logo

I Hold My Breath

Living with an abuser

By Cheryl SlackPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1

I hold my breath as I shift in bed, afraid he may wake up.

I turn away when he looks at me, afraid he’ll see my fear.

I creep through the house, afraid he’ll shout that I’m too loud.

I wear long-sleeve shirts, afraid others will see my bruises.

I watch as others stare at me, witnesses to my shame.

I tell myself I have no choices, afraid the one I make,

could be worse.

I hide a bag with basic things, afraid I may need to flee.

I squirrel away cash, afraid of having nothing.

I smile and say I’m fine, afraid someone will see the truth.

I call the hotline when he’s gone, afraid someone will answer.

I use a false name for the shelter’s phone number, afraid he’ll discover my plan.

I pretend the vodka bottles don’t exist, afraid he won’t have enough to pass out.

I refill his Percocet, afraid the alcohol won’t do its job.

I pretend to read my book, watching him starting to doze.

I wait, afraid I’ll never be free, and at last, unafraid.

social commentary
1

About the Creator

Cheryl Slack

I have been seriously writing for the past 3 years. I currently live in Michigan near my family. I have a BA in Spanish and English and have 2 published novels, pen name Avery Stark, in a crime thriller series, after eight and Solace,

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.