Poets logo

I haven't made my bed since you left

that was yesterday...

By Skylar WhitneyPublished 9 months ago 3 min read
1

tonight i'll sleep

in unmade sheets

the ones we crawled under together,

just last night

we'd looked at the time

unaware so many hours had passed

beginning to entrust in me

some of your deeper wounds

surpassing just that which

lies stalkingly on the surface

that barrier...we broke it

and in-between,

you'd hold me in real close

bring me in for a

soft brushing of our lips

and i'd think, in my head

...i think i'm really coming

to sort of be in love with you.

//

when alarmingly comprehending the time

i knew i wasn't ready for this night to end

so in that joking way,

we both know all too well,

suggesting, why not just stay at my place?

contemplation only took a matter

of a few painstaking seconds

merely a moment of hesitation

before claiming "fuck it"

and here we are now,

lights off,

pitch black spills onto my walls

i can't see you anymore

but i can feel you

and i can sense what you're thinking

it's like i can read your mind

because that's one thing we share

we're both thinking the same thing

this night wasn't meant to be drawn to an end

rather, what it will do

is slowly roll into the credits

like after Barbie finished

and you're bittersweet for it to end

but you won't realize the moment when it does

because by then it fades to black

and next thing you know,

you're in the middle of an

all too vivid dream

a figment of my imagination

and it replays on my mind all day

i reset the record

when reliving the moment in time

when i finally grew the guts

and showed you how i like to

display for you my love

i sent it to you with my love and affection

i wanted to make you feel good

and it worked.

but even better than i ever could've imagined

that such a gift would be received

you were shocked at the extent of my knowledge

how could such a sweet, innocent girl

have such a way with movement?

"she really knows what she's doing,"

you'd thought

in complete and utter shock,

you asked who my teacher had been

how could i have possibly

gained such infinite knowledge?

i had you on the edge...

any moment now

and i loved making you feel good

it made me feel good

and i just can't stop

replaying the image of it all occurring

that lives inside of my head

//

up, 6:30am

double alarms from each of our phones

would've been the first giveaway

to any of my seven roommates

that i'd had an illegal,

overnight guest.

crawling back into covers

"just a few minutes,"

you sleepily say

of course, i'm more than happy

to agree

there we lay,

until you finally say

"i think it's time we head out."

and i'll check the coast is clear

and in a way that seems all too ironic

the coast, is in fact, not clear

i grab your shoes and we attempt to sneak out back

perhaps the squeaking gate

had been our second offender

we're no good at covering our tracks

a peaceful drive back home,

returning you to your own

a sun-painted sky unfolds

behind Pyramid mountain

in unison, we watch dancing colours

at this point...

i wish i could've been

holding your hand.

pulling up to that

painful apartment

memories of a more

simpler, but far more

depressing time.

we bid each other a good day

with that one line you always seem to say

and slowly, my car pulls away.

//

arriving at home,

this time all alone

a step into my room

is an instant reminder

of events that only just

transpired a few hours back

physical proof...

the evidence

you were here last night

and this is how you made me feel

because i feel it again when,

even on my own

i slip back into silky sheets

and it's as though your honey arms

are enveloping me again

and i could live and sleep and breathe and dream

intertwined within those sheets

for the rest of my life.

love poems
1

About the Creator

Skylar Whitney

Introvert at heart. Lover of journaling, free-verse poetry, and poutine.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.