Poets logo

Listen to The Rain

As someone with noise sensitivity, I find repetitive sounds calming.

By Mika OkaPublished 11 days ago 2 min read
6
Listen to The Rain
Photo by Max Bender on Unsplash

My peace within my own living space was disrupted when the development plans for the land next door were scrapped.

Now, it's become a noisy wasteland, hosting weekly car races and even a makeshift nightclub. The constant racket is overwhelming – even the sound of people walking in the hallway is unbearable.

This wouldn't just bother anyone; my noise sensitivity, coupled with ASD and other mental health challenges, making it extremely anxiety-inducing.

In stark contrast, the sound of raindrops pattering on my window acts as a magical balm. As someone with noise sensitivity, I find repetitive sounds calming.

The rain becomes a source of comfort, a soothing white noise that grounds me in the midst of this chaos.

This, along with the rhythmic rumble of the midnight train passing by our house (we live near the railway too), provides a much-needed sense of peace in my otherwise overwhelming life.

listen to the rain

a symphony of

gentle distraction

a healing balm

for all our fears

in solitude

i find comfort

in its sound

a soothing melody

that surrounds me

as raindrops fall

worries fade away

leaving behind

a sense of calm and grace

the morning dew

a gentle reminder

that life is precious

a gift to be kinder

at midnight’s hour

the passing train’s

distant rumble

a faint refrain

it brings a hope

of a world beyond

a chance to break free

to make a change

lost in thought

staring at the ground

anxiety gripping me tight

like unwelcomed guest

but the rain’s rhythm

gently pulls me away

oh rain, oh train

won’t you take me far?

from this place

where discomfort

lingered on

I long for

peace of mind

but till then

the sound of rain

would help me cope

listen to the rain

a symphony of peace

a reminder

that the storm

will cease.

in solitude

i find hope

a promise

of better days

ahead

©Emika Oka

Thank you for reading 🖤

Previously published on From The Corner of My Mind

Your support holds immense significance for a disabled neurodivergent. If you’d like to show your support, you can consider buying me a coffee here. Your kindness is greatly appreciated.

https://emikaoka.wordpress.com/home/

Stream of ConsciousnessMental HealthFree Verse
6

About the Creator

Mika Oka

Sharing her unique perspective on the world as a hearing-impaired autistic person with bipolar disorder despite the challenges.

https://ko-fi.com/emikaoka

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Shirley Belk7 days ago

    I love the rain, too! The racket of loud voices the opposite.

  • Murali8 days ago

    Wow, everyone loves rain! Would you be able to write a poem about the Sun?

  • L.C. Schäfer8 days ago

    One of my favourite sounds is rain on leaves. A cosy cabin in the forest, far from city noises, with the rain coming down... heaven for me. I think you need to embed a link at the end?

  • Kodah10 days ago

    This hit hard. This can also be linked to trauma, I always needed sounds (especially rain/raindrops) to help me sleep. Love your poem! 💌

  • My heart gets freezes when listen to the rain. It is heavenly. I love your poem.

  • Oh God, as a person with Misophonia and ASD, this would have been a nightmare for me. Hope things get better for you. Loved your poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.