Poets logo

I Have Seen The World

A poem about different places and experiences around the world

By Jude ChukwuemekaPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1
Indus river – Free Leh Image on Unsplash

I have seen the whole world

I have seen all that eyes can see

I am not new to Nigeria,

Neither am I strange to Scotland

Once I placed an elbow in Eritrea

And set one foot in France.

I played hide-and-seek with the pyramids of Egypt

Shared a bottle of beer with the Nile

And left for Mecca with Tutankhamen`s crown.

Ghana begged me with a thousand bags of gold--

Armed with chopstick in both hands

China chased me out of her gate.

In Britain the Queen at a conference

Conferred on me the knighthood.

In India I basked in the bowel of Indus

And won ten elephants from Brahma`s faithfuls.

Women in Ivory Coast weaved a welcome dance

Libya threw stones at me because I stared

On her pretty daughters who passed by in a queue.

In Tonga I ruled as king for two days

Then left for Iceland where I shivered in snow

Inside the eleven clothes I wore.

I have seen the Eskimos who dwell in Alaska,

The Aborigines of Australia.

I have set my boots on the ice of Antarctica

I have seen the Pygmies in the wilderness of Congo

strolled beyond the Himalayan mountains

Seen the roaring rear of the Mississippi.

Justin Wilkens Unsplash Images

I have been to Brazil, Burma, the USA

And have shopped beyond the true bargain of the equator.

I have been to the end of the world

To where the sun never sets

To the country where rain never stops falling.

I have flown across all the rivers,

Ponds, canals, swamps and oceans

Wandered through phantom forests

Wood smokes and landscapes that disappeared

Like illusions from my sub-conscious mind

And sometimes I stroll past places that look

Like memories of my childhood

Stuck in a photo frame.

I have seen the whole world

But shall I return, will I come back,

When there is nothing for my eyes to see?

nature poetry
1

About the Creator

Jude Chukwuemeka

Writer, Editor, Reader. I write as I see fit. Lifestyle writing is my thing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Mother Combs7 months ago

    👍

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.