Poets logo

I Have Seen

the bEgiNning anD

By Kylee LangstonPublished 5 years ago 1 min read
Like

I see in her eyes.

The smile that was.

before the heartbreak,

before the drugs.

Numbing pain,

that was never supposed to be.

scarred and haunted by

things she was never supposed to see.

Excuses.

Supposed to this.

Supposed to that.

Supposedly, that won't bring her back.

She was broken,

one too many times.

A victim of,

oh so many crimes.

She was a precious thing,

to love and to hold.

But she was left,

alone and cold.

I have seen the end.

I've seen it in her eyes.

How I wish to tell her,

she needn't truly cry.

I have seen the loneliness,

it won't let her smile be.

It's not that bad,

in all actuality.

I have seen the pain,

although she carries it so well.

I have seen those cliche smiles,

the ones she can't quite sell.

I have seen the end.

Please tell me it's not near.

I had so many

hopes for you my dear.

I have seen the things,

That you could really do.

I saw happiness and warmth.

I see it in you.

In your eyes there's a glimmer,

Although I see them getting dimmer.

I see the future for you,

It's one full of hope.

I pray that one day

You will cope.

I know what I have seen.

And I have seen the end.

I will not lie,

and I will not pretend.

I have seen your demise,

Take this as a sign.

The smile that was?

It still has time in your eyes.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.