Poets logo

I Hate The Sun

Poem

By Desmond RazzanoPublished 2 years ago 2 min read
Like

I guess, in a way, we’re conflicted by past history.

You’re heading towards a danger zone.

I guess, in some ways, we’re addicted to pain and misery.

And breaking all the major bones.

So let there be darkness!

Nothing hides in the light.

What looks frightening is often harmless.

But your gut knows what’s right.

I’m sweating bullets, this used to be fun.

I live life to the fullest, but I hate the sun!

And when it’s 3AM,

beware The Devil’s Hour.

There’s quite enough mayhem for him to devour.

Outer space seems maybe galactical,

And her comets look ethereal.

There’s no opinion, baby I talk factual,

As my facts become material.

Kaleidoscope of stars, but when the sky is blue, there’s one.

Long sleeves hide my scars,

but it’s too hot for the sun.

I’d walk around with a flashlight for all I give a shit,

But leave my voice to hear.

I love the way my bones chill a bit,

But I’m not paralised in fear.

So, I guess, in a way, we all have shit to work out,

I won’t sit here and cry ‘poor you’.

I guess, in some ways, the wires still have kinks to jerk out,

And no one’s about to do it for you.

I don’t want more games, every day is love day!

All these men are such a shame,

I need some fucking bugspray.

When a gloomy cloud follows me, atleast I’m in the shade.

I keep a circle much smaller than myself, because I never cared for shapes.

I hate the sun!

Where is my black umbrella?

No, I’m not the one, alone I’ll do it, acapella.

I love the moon’s light, but not so much the sun’s.

It’s burning out my eyes, man I just want love.

I’d sleep underground if it planted a tree.

Water flows throughout the blood within me.

Red lights mean stop, green lights mean go.

My heart’s saying yes, but my mind’s saying no.

I dropped everything to look at myself.

Is this what I want to see?

Money can not buy the true kind of wealth.

So, rich is what I am to be!

Ya know, I guess, in a way, I like to cook in hell’s kitchen.

My stove has six burners.

I guess, in some ways, I should learn to listen.

I’m one quick learner.

I hate the sun! I burn alive as it swaggers about.

The strings have me undone.

I’ll need a knife to dagger me out.

I’ve never seen waters more shallow, but so easy to drown in.

I’ve never known a blacker shadow, yet in the light, it’s found in.

I hate the sun, I can’t stand its blinding rays!

I stay inside, as I’m hiding for days.

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Desmond Razzano

My name is Desmond, and I have a love and passion for writing of all kinds, especially poetry! Most of the content I write about reflects more of my experiences and my pain, and my joy! Every entry or story I post was written by me.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.