Poets logo

I Hate/Miss You Dad...

A Short Poem.

By Brandon PartridgePublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like
I Hate/Miss You Dad...
Photo by Majestic Lukas on Unsplash

The night you left us, my world fell apart

Your body lay still, but my mind raced and darted

I cried out to God, why'd you have to depart?

And the answer came back, you'd been dearly departed

You were always the life of the party, the center of fun

But behind the laughter, your demons had won

You'd fought them so hard, but in the end, they'd won out

Leaving us with nothing but sorrow and doubt

I remember the good times, the love that we shared

But now those memories are bittersweet, it's hard to bear

I wish you were here, to see how we've grown

But instead, we're left with an empty space, a heart made of stone

I try to forgive you, for the pain that you caused

But it's hard to forget, the hurt and the loss

I wish things were different, that you were still here

But instead, we're left with a memory, of the life that we shared

So now, I sit here, with tears in my eyes

And try to make sense of your life and your lies

I know you were broken, with your own demons to fight

And even though I hate your guts, I still miss you tonight.

slam poetrysad poetryperformance poetryheartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Brandon Partridge

Hello,

My name is Brandon. I am the lead singer of the band This Odd Life, I am also a Spoken Word Poet and someone that wants to do good in the world. You can find me at Instagram.com/thisoddlife or over at soundcloud.com/thisoddlife

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.