Poets logo

Never lose a love as good as this one.

A Poem about heartbreak and hope.

By Brandon PartridgePublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like
Never lose a love as good as this one.
Photo by Yuvraj Singh on Unsplash

My heart is shattered, fragmented, broken,

Like a thousand pieces of glass left unspoken,

Each shard a reminder of what once was,

But now, all that's left is emptiness, a loss.

It's like a storm raging in my chest,

A tempest of emotions, unexpressed,

A whirlwind of pain that never rests,

As I try to pick up the pieces, do my best.

My heart feels like a barren wasteland,

A desert with no oasis, no helping hand,

A place where nothing grows, nothing lives,

A place where only loneliness gives.

It's like a flower that's been plucked and torn,

Left to wither, neglected and forlorn,

Once vibrant and alive, now lifeless and worn,

A symbol of love that's been shorn.

My soul feels like a ship lost at sea,

Adrift in a vast ocean of uncertainty,

A vessel without a destination or direction,

A metaphor for my heart's disconnection.

In the end, all that's left is an ache,

A constant reminder of what's at stake,

A reminder that love can be fleeting,

And that heartbreak is a part of living.

So I stand here, with a heavy heart,

Trying to piece together what's fallen apart,

Trying to move on, trying to start,

But the pain is still here, tearing me apart.

So I'll hold on to hope, to love, to light,

And pray that someday, things will be all right,

That the shattered pieces will mend and unite,

And I'll find love again, shining bright.

love poemsslam poetrysad poetryheartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Brandon Partridge

Hello,

My name is Brandon. I am the lead singer of the band This Odd Life, I am also a Spoken Word Poet and someone that wants to do good in the world. You can find me at Instagram.com/thisoddlife or over at soundcloud.com/thisoddlife

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.