Poets logo

I Guess This is Growing Old…

A poetic investigation into that topic we all LOVE to think about!

By Aaron Waddell - The Everyday MysticPublished 4 months ago 2 min read
2
I Guess This is Growing Old…
Photo by Aron Visuals on Unsplash

---

A twinge in

your shoulder

Cards say

a year older

An ache in

your right knee

Fights with

your family

inevitable

weight gain

heartburn

brings more pain

Dental Crowns

and implants

Giving up on

those skin-ny pants

---

A body so frail

A mind that's set sail

Excited to get the mail

Such a sad and desperate tale

I'm sure I don't have too long

Time to bang the gong

fingers always cold

Is this really growing old?

By Shawn Lee on Unsplash

Stretching

everyday

Worries

about pay

Pulled muscle

in my calf

Annoyed with

my better half

Cramp in

my left hip

Cursing

my chapped lips

Numbness

in my back

Thoughts about

What I do lack

---

The end of the trail

Against the young ones to rail

Ready to kick the pail

To the coffin, add a nail

Oh God, I hope they're wrong

For my youth, I do long

That's what I've been told

I guess this is growing old.

By Oziel Gómez on Unsplash

Meditation

Self-Awareness

Taking care of

Your Parents

Training

with Body weight

Being kind to

Your prostate

Allowing

for healing

Realizing

the You of being

Teaching

to others

Loving

your bro-thers all

---

Grab the tiger by the tail

Filling up the whole pail

Blazing a new trail

With the force of a gale

Maybe there's a new song

Maybe they've all been wrong

Maybe it's not what you've been sold?

Maybe this could be growing old?

By Sage Friedman on Unsplash

Awaiting

your grandkids

Allowing

help with jar lids

Seeking

for wisdom

finding

The Kingdom

Reflection

on things past

Accepting

the dice cast

Turning

within self

Not put

on that damn shelf

*

Spirit as big as a whale

Invulnerable in God's mail

With Him, I Cannot fail

I will tell all my tale

Following God can't be wrong

I'll sing a happy song

So many stories yet untold!

This could be growing old!

By Luca Bravo on Unsplash

Reading

And learning 

Inward 

Returning

Walking

In Nature

Respecting

All creatures 

Listening

To His Word

Watching

All the Birds

Love and Joy

Around me

Living

Is so free now

*

Such a joyous, hopeful tale

Though the body will fail

I know that Truth will prevail!

On love's wings, I set sail!

For peace, I will long

I'll prove them all wrong

A future bright and bold!

Yes! This is growing old!

By Brittney Burnett on Unsplash

Thanks for reading! I wanted to capture the frantic desperation that many experience as they age, and then turn that thought on its head, giving it a super positive spin. I hope it inspires you to seize the opportunity presented to you every day!

Bonus points if you can guess my inspiration! Hint: remember I am a child of the 90's!

Here's another poem you may like!

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

Hello dear friend, I'm Aaron! I write inspirational poems and stories of spiritual growth and personal development. I invite you to be a part of my journey of self-discovery and search for truth.

Thanks for stopping by. Hope to see you again soon!

Please subscribe so you don't miss any of my poems and stories!

Have a wonderful, blessed day!

Love,

Aaron

P.S. You can see my books, social links and other ways to support me here.

Stream of ConsciousnessSong LyricsMental Healthlove poemsinspirationalhumorheartbreakGratitudeFriendshipFor Fun
2

About the Creator

Aaron Waddell - The Everyday Mystic

Hello dear friend! I'm Aaron - Husband, Father, Writer, Engineer, Poet and Pickleball Junkie.

I write inspirational poems and stories of spiritual growth.

Be a part of my journey of self-discovery and search for truth.

---------

This is Me!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.