Poets logo

I Guess It's Spring

Relentlessly ephemeral

By Sonia Heidi UnruhPublished 2 months ago Updated 2 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - March 2024
19
Photo taken in my yard, 3-16-24

It's spring, I guess.

Green shoots poking up by my mailbox,

Every day a smidge taller.

They won't change their mind and start shrinking,

I think.

Spring is irreversible.

First the stalks grow,

Then daffodils will come.

For a week or so, on my way to the car

I'll pause to admire their golden glory,

Capture pictures to post on my page,

Muse about wandering lonely as a cloud.

Then I'll be rushing out the door

Late

And the blooms will smudge my peripheral vision

Like a stick of butter across a pan

On which I'm hoping the cookies won't burn

Again.

And then, one day,

I'll notice a rusty stain on a few blooms.

Yellow heads will begin to wrinkle,

Petals will crinkle and wad like paper,

Stems will curl and bow,

Retreating to the earth,

Defeated by the inevitability of summer.

For a week or so, I'll begrudge their grave,

Brooding on the staying power of gold,

As green leaves unfurl from branches,

A smidge bigger

Day by day.

*****

Thank you for engaging. This poem references two famous works, which I encourage you to enjoy with these links to the Poetry Foundation:

"I Wandered Lonely as a Cloud" by William Wordsworth

"Nothing Gold Can Stay" by Robert Frost

inspirationalnature poetry
19

About the Creator

Sonia Heidi Unruh

I love: my husband and children; all who claim me as family or friend; the first bite of chocolate; the last blue before sunset; solving puzzles; stroking cats; finding myself by writing; losing myself in reading; the Creator who is love.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (14)

Sign in to comment
  • Gabriela Trofin-Tatárabout a month ago

    Congrats on top story!! I loved your references to the two mentioned poems 💕🌸 Spring is in full swing in our area, flowers everywhere 🥰

  • Ameer Bibiabout a month ago

    Congratulations for top story "Your dedication to your craft is inspiring. Each piece you create is a masterpiece in its own right."

  • Sian N. Cluttonabout a month ago

    This is brilliant. So very descriptive! I loved your comparisons. Well done!

  • Addy Gill2 months ago

    Congrats on Top Story

  • It is a melancholy meditation on the circle of life that masterfully captures the bittersweet spirit of the changing seasons, reminding us of the transient nature of time and the certainty of change.

  • Anna 2 months ago

    Congrats on Top Story!🥳🥳🥳

  • Rachel Deeming2 months ago

    I loved this. Spring brings such hipe and daffodils with their sunniness especially. And then the die back is sad because they look so pitiful and less proud somehow. Wonderfully evoked. I know the Wordsworth poem but not the Robert Frost so I'm off to seek it out courtesy of your link. Thank you!

  • Paul Stewart2 months ago

    Aw, love this Sonia. There is a bit of sadness in there. I am not the biggest fan of Wordsworth's poem...I even did my own take on it recently on Vocal...but this piece is fab. Stunning work and really sets the mood for everything hopeful and great about Spring. Well done on Top Story!

  • Andrea Corwin 2 months ago

    Oh no, now you have run through the Spring flowers and they died in summer's heat - you spelled it all out so clearly, now we all see them and then don't. Super poem! "a stick of butter..."😍

  • Cathy holmes2 months ago

    This is delightful. Well done.

  • L.C. Schäfer2 months ago

    The seasons march on and whatnot

  • “M”2 months ago

    Wonderful

  • Suze Kay2 months ago

    Spring always feels so vague and shifty. Thanks for celebrating that, Sonia, in this beautiful poem - and reminding me to revisit Wordsworth!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.