Poets logo

I Forgot About That

That I Loved That

By Lavon SwygertPublished 5 years ago 2 min read
Like

I forgot that I loved that.

I forgot about the eyes that are dark as the soil;

About the curled hair and thick thighs and gold herbal oil.

I forgot that my hair didn't look nice without you here; forgot I didn't know how to make a bun like you'd make when we were the musketeers.

I forgot about the laughs and the cries and the shouts; forgot the pain and the loneliness and my crippling doubt.

I forgot how it felt when you lay on my bed; forgot the knotty hair and the sheets and the way we knocked heads.

I forgot about the mirror that we got from Ethal Hall; forgot the candle and the promises and the way I left it all.

I forgot I loved it when you told me I was pretty; forgot the way you me feel, the way we told the truth and were childish and giddy.

I forgot the way you smiled at all our silent jokes; forgot how mean we were, how nice were, how we treated folks.

I forgot how I missed you; how I wanted you with me. I even forgot the way disagreed on parsley or rosemary.

I forgot the leeks and the ramen and the minty spiced tea. I forgot the 53 states and the paintings and the Three;

I forgot the wolf pack and voting and wrestling meets. The moment I looked in your eyes and saw my other half, yeah I even forgot the ring in my purse and the silent laughs.

But the worst part is that I forgot to forget; all of this on my mind as you turned 19 last night;

I did forget to say that although you're my wife,

You're my best friend and my soulmate and I'm glad you're in my life.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.