Poets logo

I Fell for Jesters

A poem by P. Coyne

By P. CoynePublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Thank you Canva.com for free templates and images to allow me to create free covers for my stories among other things!

I fell for the Jesters.

Although Kings kissed the ground I walked on.

I fell for the Jesters.

I gave second chances to fools and to serfs my lips could easily call upon.

I fell for the Jesters.

They bruise my heart with every jingle of their cap n’ bells.

My eyes manifest tears with every laugh inflicted by the entertainer.

I fell for the Jesters and all their different hells.

Witticisms drip from his tongue not quite as often as his criticisms.

The Jester dances over my spine to see how far I’ll bend before I break.

He picks out my flaws and wears them as brightly as the colors of his vest.

His grins turn to scowls when the crowd disperses from the illusions he’ll create.

Fools I will fall for no more,

Their winkle peckers will no longer tap on each nerve.

I refuse the Kings as much as a common peasant for,

Gods should worship me since that is what I deserve.

No longer will I fall for the Jesters.

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

P. Coyne

I like to use writing as an outlet for feelings and creativity. I hope you enjoy what you find and find a reason to stay!!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.