Poets logo

I Dreamt of Birdsong

On the Full Moon

By Cathy holmesPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Top Story - January 2023
68
photo of Ramiro Pianaro on Unsplash

I dreamt of vibrant birdsong, except it was a cat.

Singing like a sparrow, wearing a blue top hat.

Then there were tarantulas, climbing on a log.

It creeped me out at first, until I saw it was a dog.

The tarantulas were kind of cute, they were never fearsome.

I’m sure that they were puppies, riding on a possum.

Hens were drinking milk, from breasts of bearded goats.

Pigs were playing hockey, upon the frozen moat.

Raccoons were hopping on the grass, kangaroos climbing trees.

Hyenas were laughing at tiny llamas, hitching rides on bees.

I swear I saw a tiger go flying through the air,

Chasing after snowy owls with beautiful long blond hair.

**

I heard a voice behind me. It gave me quite a start.

I turned and saw a koala, holding a tray of dessert.

“Please forgive the intrusion. I assure I meant no harm.

I’d like to offer you a treat and welcome you to our farm.”

I’m speaking with a koala. This can’t be real, I think.

A black bear comes with another tray, to offer me a drink.

I have a snack and accept a glass of fresh-squeezed orange juice.

I have a chat with the kind koala and a very friendly moose.

I know it sounds ridiculous. It doesn’t make any sense.

They assure me all will be okay, that there is no pretense.

They remind me I’ve not considered, the truth that’s evident soon,

When I went to sleep this starry night, there was a bright full moon.

surreal poetry
68

About the Creator

Cathy holmes

Canadian family girl with a recently discovered love for writing. Other loves include animals and sports.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  4. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  5. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (39)

Sign in to comment
  • Mariann Carrollabout a year ago

    Very creative ❤️♥️

  • Zohaib Sunesaraabout a year ago

    This prom is a creative and surreal journey through a dreamland filled with unexpected and unusual animal interactions. The imagery of vibrant birdsong being a cat, tarantulas being dogs, and hockey-playing pigs adds a playful and fantastical element to the story. The ending with the koala and black bear offering a snack and drink brings a sense of acceptance and normalcy to the dream, reminding the reader that anything is possible in the world of dreams. Overall, a fun and imaginative read.

  • Gina C.about a year ago

    I have no idea how I missed this one!!! This is amazing, Cathy!! There are so many animals in here 😍 What a vibrant dream; great story!!

  • Lilly Cooperabout a year ago

    This was a fun read :) well done.

  • PK Colleranabout a year ago

    Original! Great fun. Thanks!!

  • Bugsy Wattsabout a year ago

    wow! I love this so much! definitely deserves a win :)

  • Dean F. Hardyabout a year ago

    I read this in the voice of the mad hatter, Cathy haha

  • Shelley Martinabout a year ago

    Great poem. Well done.

  • Gerald Holmesabout a year ago

    Wonderful imagination. Loved it. Had me thinking about a song by CCR. "Looking out my back door."

  • Seni Haksabout a year ago

    Interesting sounds good :)

  • Angelina F. Thomasabout a year ago

    This dope work made me levitate. Good morning. I am about to workout with my new yoga ball. Hell yeah. It is a glorious morning to stretch and workout!

  • Sydney Aliceabout a year ago

    Loved the meter and the levity of it!

  • Jess Boyesabout a year ago

    Loved this. Really wonderful, reminds me of Alice in Wonderland - tarantula‘s aren’t cute, though 😉

  • Manpreet Singh Bhinderabout a year ago

    Wow! such a great poem.

  • Veronica Coldironabout a year ago

    There's such a touch of whimsy to this that it's fun to read! I love the fairytale rhythmic feel to it also!

  • Rachel M.Jabout a year ago

    The image of the koala offering you dessert gave me a chuckle. Well done, Cathy!

  • Oooo, I'd love for the Koala and Black Bear to bring me desserts and drinks too! Loved your poem, it was like a fever dream, lol!

  • Felista Estep Sutherlandabout a year ago

    Delightful!!

  • Lamar Wigginsabout a year ago

    Excellent job interpreting your dream into a poem. The flow was spot on!

  • Tiz Mooreabout a year ago

    This was so fun to follow along with! Very imaginative and well written. Hope some of these friends visit my dreams tonight!

  • Katieabout a year ago

    Another fun read!! Congrats on the Top Story, Cathy! Well deserved!

  • JBazabout a year ago

    You're making Canada Proud. Another spot on Top Story

  • Caroline Janeabout a year ago

    That was mind-bending for sure.... and what a party!! Congrats on another top story Cathy!! 👏👏👏

  • Stephanie J. Bradberryabout a year ago

    So much fun to read. For some reason I felt an "Alice In Wonderland" vibe come over me. My favorite part was the koala...well because they're my favorite, it offered dessert (another favorite) and was the only animal to speak!

  • This comment has been deleted

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.