Poets logo

I Dreamt of An Awakening

with an album full of bittersweet ballads

By Anthony DahmPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

I don’t want to be awake. I don’t want to pour myself a glass of water.

I want to sit here and smoke.

I don’t want this cigarette to go out. I don’t want the song to end.

I don’t want a photo album in my pocket but rather

in my head an album full of bittersweet ballads and beautiful melodies reminding me of you and

them

and

all the good times I’ve had.

I want to dance like I did with you at the bowling alley. I want to love like I did before I wandered off into the alleyway with a jacket pocket of Jack,

lost in the dim city lights of San Francisco, searching for my car stumbling up steps with scars on my arms.

I don’t need to drift into a barrier on the 85 freeway.

I want to be free of my nightmares…

of the vivid fires I leave behind in my search for you.

And if I am awake then send me back for another dream of a bed with you beside me.

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.