Poets logo

I dreamed of my rose in the garden

By Godfrey

By Godfrey GeorgesPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like

Darkness acquiesce to the waking of the morning as light gains the first moments of the day. In anticipation of the day’s arrival, consciousness awakens, eyes open, and hearts beats. Daily rituals of prayers, exercise, medicine and then, there is the smell of fresh bread, the aroma of hazelnut flavors in coffee and, the sizzling sound of maple flavored bacon. The cock crow and the farmers with pail in hand dutifully address the livestock, and consider their labor in the fields.

The earth is warming now as sunlight graces the landscape. The foggy, misty dew envelopes my garden so thick one can barely see. I gladly welcome the dew, trusting that nature knows when and how to nourish its family. Later, the sun establishes its setting in the sky and as the dew dissipates, my garden is now in grand view.

Among the trees, the hydrangeas, and the daisy’s were a row of climbing rose bushes, which clutched the trellis walls. The trellis is used to support the roses because of its strength, yet modest as to not clash with nature. The roses’ glory boasts of so many deep bright reds, stunning yellows and pearly whites; a harmony of overwhelming hues. I breathed their fragrances in the air, as I stood over them. The roses await inspection and “come hither” the butterflies, and the bees. They amongst others, accepted the roses invitation, flutter and hovering as they begin their gossip. I was taking it all in...seeing and feeling nature’s showcase, and as I reached for this one rose, unbeknownst of the thorn, I yelped.

I gasped, lying in bed. It was so real...oh so real.

"I have awaken, and my senses were shaken,

Startled was I, so real was my-inner

vision of my world, how i desired it was true,

but...I dreamed of my rose in the garden ."

nature poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.