Poets logo

I Dream in Ink

A Poets Peace

By Nadia Published 2 years ago 1 min read
I Dream in Ink
Photo by Sharon McCutcheon on Unsplash

I didn’t dream it… That stage, those lights… I felt like I was in a movie…

Breaking my cherry while my words flowed was needed sustenance – oh how it moved me.

My flow – my time – my style – the ambiance

Captivated – motivated…

I captured my audience.

Now that the has adrenaline worn off

Back to the place where dreams are bounded.

I come from a no man’s land in the middle of a city where we had been forgotten.

A place where seeing was learning and learning was survival. – No time to dream.

Sitting, standing, ready for a “pop pop” followed by a scream.

See, the projects is where I dare to dream.

Living within these bounds, many succumbed to the way of life,

It’s a struggle, hardly a day I don’t have to fight.

A fight for a thought, a prayer, a meaning to my existence…

Even on my worst enemy I wouldn’t wish this.

Spending many of nights waking up to the sounds of bullets and screaming that ended with a victim.

Staring down and a grieving mother holding just momentum.

The days were the cold, even in the summer. As concrete floors served as a safe place from stray bullets - you can’t outrun ‘em.

My unspoken words became my salvation where language ceased.

Away from the drugs, whores, abuse and slayings, I found my voice. My inner peace.

My pen, my paper, the power of my mind set on dream instead of weak.

My heart began to bleed ink caught in the rapture of paper.

That’s how I now speak.

In the Projects, I dreamed.

inspirational

About the Creator

Nadia

I go by Siilent_Poet. I have been writing since I was about 13. I don't like talking about myself LOL.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Nadia Written by Nadia

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.