Poets logo

I Dream In Extremes

…the retelling

By Majique MiMiPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1
I Dream In Extremes
Photo by Sharon McCutcheon on Unsplash

…seem to do more than I don’t

…tend to oversimplify so I won’t have any middle ground

My downfall is I found sex too young and self too late

Now I’m waiting for my fate to catch up with my circumstance

I dance with myself when I’m alone

Pretending someone I call my own spies me dancing with another.

Shocked with disbelief.

I once gave my heart to a thief who pawned it for a dollar.

Now I’m forced to live in squalor while the thief counts his riches

I pity the bitches who take pride in their Prada but have shallow souls

With angry fists their lives crumble in drama while I watch it unfold

And they grow old

Get over to get by

I sometimes get stuck in the shudder before the cry.

But in a blink of an eye am back again.

To be the perfect lover.

The best friend.

I pretend during the day; at night I just dream

In a total spectrum of extremes.

*poem by michele “MiMi” mitchell transcribed from memory may differ from original

performance poetry
1

About the Creator

Majique MiMi

You can call me MiMi. I’m a Brain Aneurysm & Stroke Survivor & Former English Professor. I write to stay sane, and to keep gratitude in my Spirit & Praises in my mouth.

Check out my series starting with Hood Ornaments

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.