Poets logo

I Don't Want To Love You

We Could Be Beautiful

By Sara RosePublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like
I Don't Want To Love You - Sara Rose

Saw you for the first time since you walked out the door

Felt like finding some long lost key to when we were young and free

But ain’t it funny how time never stops, how everything has changed

You and I holding hands was only yesterday

Heart sunk to the floor when you walked back in through that door

Guess I’ve been choosing to forget how strong your love can be

Don’t look at me like lovers do

It’s all I’m asking of you

I know you don’t mean to hurt me

But love makes us do strange things, so please

Don’t give me another memory to use

Cause I don’t want to love you

I don’t want to love you

You said all the right things when I cold from the rain

Then I stayed at your place and alone I felt the morning break

Tucked my hair behind my ear, told me all of your secrets and fears

Drove my heart right out of my mind, I watched it break from the inside

Call me a fool, tell me I’m asking too much

I’ll never beg but all I’m saying is, please don’t, please don’t please

Don’t look at me like lovers do

It’s all I’m asking of you

I know you don’t mean to hurt me

But love makes us do strange things, so please

Don’t give me another memory to use

Cause I don’t want to love you

I don’t want to love you

Heart sunk to the floor when you walked back in through that door

Guess I’ve been choosing to forget how strong your love can be

Don’t look at me like lovers do

It’s all I’m asking of you

I know you don’t mean to hurt me

But love makes us do strange things, so please

Don’t give me another memory to use

Cause I don’t want to love you

I don’t want to love you

Download/Stream "We Could Be Beautiful" here.

www.sarahollyrose.com

performance poetry
Like

About the Creator

Sara Rose

Sara Rose is a 24 year-old Canadian musician and upcoming author.

https://www.sarahollyrose.com

https://sararose-music.lnk.to/QQnDNoZB

www.facebook.com/sararosesmusic

@sarahollyrose (IG)

@sararosemusic (Twitter)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.