Poets logo

I don’t regret anything

To my past lovers

By Mescaline BrissetPublished 2 years ago 2 min read
5
Photo by Annie Spratt on Unsplash

Year after year with no address

Without a single mention of your existence

Although if I really wanted to, I would have found a way

To be closer to each of you

I doubt I would be appreciated

My soul would not be equal to my body

Because only the body they wanted

While the only thing I really cared about in my life

It is the part that cannot be seen on the ground

But will remain after my departure

The more esteemed part, denser, richer, more colourful, more intense

Like the hues of flowers in spring

They send their secret signals to the bees

“Here I am, pollinate me! Make me yours!”

That’s what I genuinely think

I needed you to discover the flavours of life

The ones I couldn’t approach as a single

It gave me an idea for a life that I never wanted to pursue

Anyway, I didn’t even have a chance to encounter perfect love

The first – unrequited; the second – bold; by the third my heart was already cold

Never learned to give as all takes have been spoiled

Incorrectly taken, rejected, flawed

And seriously? Now I don’t care much

I have a passion, just not for love

Once my heart was broken it turned to stone

Yet it gave me a rough and sharp view

About a path I desperately wanted to follow

Didn’t quite know back then where it would lead me

I have found myself in here so many times, on a single white sheet

Instead on a white sheet in a double bed

You never wanted to keep me, you spat me out in the end

So why should I care?

My only regret is that none of you really wanted my soul

Most ungratefully thrown at you

So, I guess not having me around

It’s your greatest sin of all

Hope you are all happy

In your own version of the success you believe in

Which was never equally mine

And I must shamelessly admit that I never regret it

*

18 December 2021

revised on 29 September 2022

***

Thank you for reading!

If you liked this poem, you can add your Insights, Comment, leave a Heart, Tip, Pledge, or Subscribe. I will appreciate any support you have shown for my work.

You can find more poems, stories, and articles by Mescaline Brisset on my Vocal profile. The art of creation never ends.

heartbreak
5

About the Creator

Mescaline Brisset

if it doesn't come bursting out of you

in spite of everything,

don't do it.

unless it comes unasked out of your

heart and your mind and your mouth

and your gut,

don't do it.

so you want to be a writer? – Charles Bukowski

Find me on Medium

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Mescaline Brisset is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.