Poets logo

I Don’t Know My Ancestors

A Poem

By Vernon T. ScottPublished 2 years ago 2 min read
Like
Boys Don't Cry by Sebastian Zaddems

I said, I don’t know my ancestors.

I know them in the context of others’ eyes.

I know them for their power, strength, and resilience.

I know them for their dedication and essence.

But I do not know them by name.

Knowing of my father’s father and his before him,

Or my mother’s mother, and hers before her,

Does not mean I know my ancestors.

A DNA test may provide me with a breakdown.

A percentage. A region. An ethnic origin.

But it’s missing the generational trauma

And the names that were erased.

However, I’m supposed to feel whole.

How can I be?

Who is the man that raped one of my greatest

Ancestors who was traced within the lineage of my father?

Who are you, white man?

Did she, the bearer of your children, know your name?

Did she refer to you as master?

Did you care one bit about her culture or language?

Who is that wondrous woman whose mitochondrial

Link brought me back home from where I was kidnapped?

What was your faith, your religion, your spiritual practice?

Did you manifest me into existence?

Am I of a tribe that was almost forgotten?

Who are those who endured through the brutality

Of whiteness and a false sense of superiority within the sea of mediocrity?

Those who were made into receipts, bills, and caricatures?

Those who had to bear the weight of the projections

Of other’s self-hatred and insecurities?

Those who had to endure the unchecked inhumane

Treatments of their bodies for the sake of profits?

What are your names?

Your stories have been untold and unheard.

For those who understand and see your struggles,

We can only generalize your pain.

But there is no pain as harmful as being brutalized

Throughout your life and then forgotten.

What are your names? What are your stories?

I wish to know my ancestors.

Purchase the digital download of Boys Don't Cry here

slam poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.