Poets logo

I Don’t Feel Like Writing Today

The Power of Writing About How You Feel

By Jennifer Lancaster @jenergy17Published 3 months ago 2 min read
Like
I Don’t Feel Like Writing Today
Photo by Ryan Snaadt on Unsplash

Day 51/366 days of writing pieces in 2024.

When I was going through my life coaching certification in 2019, the CEO of our company had us do writing exercises to get in touch with our feelings. She stressed how much power there was in writing exactly what we were thinking and feeling. Even if the exercise led to things like “this is a dumb exercise” or “I don’t want to write” or “I don’t know what to write about” And so today I found myself remembering that and I allowed myself to write exactly that. Because the truth today is “I don’t feel like writing today” I’m consumed with getting ready for my art show this weekend that I wrote about yesterday (read here) and I want all my brain power for that. Yet allowing myself to follow the prompt I gave myself below let me get a decent piece out. Lesson: write how you feel. Don’t hold back.

I don’t feel like writing today. My brain isn’t in it.

The coffee isn’t working anymore.

I’ve reached my limit.

I don’t feel like writing today. My body is tired.

Getting ready for my event,

You’d think I’d be wired.

I don’t feel like writing today.

I want my brain power for other things

Why did I commit to this

And all the work it brings

I don’t feel like writing today

There’s not a lot of time

I have much to do

Between now and bedtime

I don’t feel like writing today

The words just won’t flow

My creativity is lacking

And my motivation is low

I don’t feel like writing today

My mind is scattered and unfocused

I keep getting distracted

By tasks that feel the most hopeless

I don’t feel like writing today

I wish I could just take a break

But deadlines are looming

And I can’t afford a mistake

I don’t feel like writing today

But I’ll push through somehow

I know that once I start

I’ll find my rhythm and how

I don’t feel like writing today

But I’ll give it my best shot

Because sometimes the hardest days

Lead to the best work I’ve got.

Mental Health
Like

About the Creator

Jennifer Lancaster @jenergy17

Multidimensional Creative-preneur

Life Coach, Personal Trainer, Artist, Writer. Formerly in restaurant business for 3 decades. Soul expression is my ❤️ language. Spirituality,music, art, food and creativity fuel my life. IG @jenergy17

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.