Poets logo

I Don't Drink

The Elusive Teetotaler

By Audrey SteelePublished about a year ago 1 min read
1
I Don't Drink
Photo by Wil Stewart on Unsplash

I don't drink.

*gasp*

I know, I know.

It's uncommon. Bizarre. Maybe even a little shocking.

What's wrong with me?

I've heard all the assumptions...

"I bet you're pregnant!"

(Hello, I'm 50!)

"You must have a medical condition."

(Don't we all?)

"Are you a recovering alcoholic?"

(No, but I've lived with one.)

"You're just a goody two-shoes."

(I have my dark secrets!)

Seriously, I just don't want to drink.

*audience murmurs in disbelief*

Enough subjective sentiments. Let's talk logic.

Drinking has more cons than pros...

"It's full of antioxidants," they say.

(Along with enough poison to liquify my liver.)

"It's a social lubricant."

(I'm already a cheeky conversationalist.)

"It will help you cope with life's torment."

(Isn't that what I pay my therapist for?)

"It will relax you."

(I'm not a big fan of stumbling and mumbling.)

"It will make you feel happy."

(Until I'm unhappily retching in my toilet.)

"It will put you in the mood."

(Liking my partner is an adequate aphrodisiac.)

I know. I know.

It's strange. Unorthodox. Maybe even a little eccentric.

But there's really nothing wrong with me!

I have no pregnancy secrets to tell.

I am not physically or mentally unwell.

There's no addiction I'm trying to quell.

I'm not concerned about going to hell.

I'm not a terrorist infidel.

I.

Just.

Don't.

Drink.

social commentary
1

About the Creator

Audrey Steele

I'm a math teacher (my apologies to the math-haters out there) but words are actually my jam. Unlike algebra, which has few practical uses, words are a powerful, creative force. They can stir hope and inspire change. They are live-giving.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Gigi Gibsonabout a year ago

    Audrey… I thoroughly enjoyed your poem! It was fresh, and insightful, with powerful arguments for your point. I love your mastery of the written word. Exceptionally well done!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.