Poets logo

I Don't Dream, I Drown

When it feels like there's no escape

By Simon GeorgePublished about a year ago 1 min read
Top Story - January 2023
63
Cristian Palmer - Unsplash

I close my eyes. I'm drowning.

I open them to the dark.

Drenched in sweat, with quickened breath, heart pounding in my chest.

But the ocean of my dream calls to me.

I close my eyes so I can feel.

I'm underwater once again.

But the familiar sense of helplessness feels like home.

This is where I live.

I'm always drowning, am I not?

Awake, asleep, there's no difference.

The lines of reality blurred like dark rocks wettened by unrelenting waves.

The dark water below tugs at my heart.

I must wake now, or I never will.

A shimmer of light from the surface stirs me from sleep and the darkening night.

It's still dark, but not like before.

heartbreaksurreal poetrysad poetry
63

About the Creator

Simon George

I write poetry, fiction, and non-fiction. In 2021, I published my debut book "The Truth Behind The Smile" a self-help guide for your mental health based on my personal experience with depression. Go check it out.

IG: @AuthorSimonGeorge

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (19)

Sign in to comment
  • Sid Aaron Hirjiabout a year ago

    Great poem. I feel you living with trauma and mental health issues feels like you suffocate to fit in both asleep and awake. For the longest time I dreamed to hide my fears

  • Janice Dailyabout a year ago

    The last stanza of the poem gives a glimmer of hope, as the speaker is able to find a way to wake from the dark dream, and the light from the surface gives a sense of hope for finding a way out of the darkness. The phrase "A shimmer of light" gives an optimistic tone to the poem by suggesting that there is always a way out of the dark. I needed to read this today, I just didn't know up when I woke up this morning.

  • Ashabout a year ago

    i can relate, thank you for sharing.

  • sleepy draftsabout a year ago

    "It's still dark, but not like before." There is so much truth behind this Beautiful poem!

  • Seni Haksabout a year ago

    Impressive and astonishing. It's kind of like a metaphor explaining an event of trauma...

  • Manpreet Singh Bhinderabout a year ago

    This is Awesome. Congratulations for the top story.

  • Erica Wagnerabout a year ago

    Love that seeming of the shimmer of light… thanks for sharing.

  • Veronica Coldironabout a year ago

    This is very dreamlike and familiar. What a great piece!

  • AdonShar For Realabout a year ago

    Great way to express yourself love the poem

  • This comment has been deleted

  • The Invisible Writerabout a year ago

    Great poem

  • Jollyoddbod Poetryabout a year ago

    Congratulations on creating this top story Simon. Incredible work, I admire the way this piece holds space for the depths of ones darknesses. I look forward to reading your next piece.

  • Christian Educationabout a year ago

    The five line is excellent. I really feel this line.

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    This is incredibly beautiful. Well done and congrats on the Top Story.

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    Loved these lines, 'I'm always drowning, am I not? Awake, asleep, there's no difference'. I felt them. Excellent work :) Congrats on the Top Story! You've gained a new subscriber.

  • Melissa Ingoldsbyabout a year ago

    I absolutely appreciate your feelings of drowning in waking and dreaming, indeed. Hearted. Congratulations on your top story!

  • Dan R Fowlerabout a year ago

    Your poem reminds me of almost drowning, my father saved me from the darkness, unconsciousness

  • C. H. Richardabout a year ago

    Love this line, "But the familiar sense of helplessness feels like home." Well done and Congratulations on your Top story. Hearted and subscribed.

  • Novel Allenabout a year ago

    I loved your poem, beautifully done.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.