Poets logo

I don't Believe

In Love At First Sight

By Véronique Racine Published 2 years ago 1 min read
14

They call her an Ice Maiden

For with a blink of the eye

She dashes hopes and dreams

She refuses to be taken

When boys comes courting

Stars in eyes and heart in hand

She says with utmost scorn

“ Who do you think you are fooling? “

“ I don’t believe in Love At First Sight, “

“ You are fools because you do not know me “

“ All you see is what you want to see, “

“ And what do you see, do you even wonder?”

‘ What you want isn’t love, because love cannot be found, “

“ In pictures or a stare “

“ In a camera’s glare “

“ What you imagine is love is fake, sure to bring awful mistakes, “

“ Make you whine tomorrow: “

“ If only I’d known, “

“ You say you know my heart, but you have not a clue, “

“What pushes me to be the way I am, and what I do, “

“ So take your flowers out of my sight “

“ Forget about me this night, “

“ Isn’t it clear yet?”

“ I don’t believe in Love At First Sight, “

And there was nothing else to add or say

All the boys went away

love poems
14

About the Creator

Véronique Racine

I am a hobby writer who adores science fiction and intelligent characters and storylines!

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Jacqueline Sauvéabout a year ago

    I like the bluntness of your last line!

  • Derekabout a year ago

    I believe in love at first sight of me.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.