Poets logo

I Do Not Hate the Colour Pink

An ode to a colour I avoided because womanhood is a sin

By Melissa in the BluePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
7
I Do Not Hate the Colour Pink
Photo by Pawel Czerwinski on Unsplash

I am not a fan of the colour pink

I despise the way it looks on my skin

The morality of pink is a sin

I would hate if others started to think

That I like pink flowers, pink pens, pink ink

Reminders that womanhood is a sin

Like what matters does not come from within

But maybe it's time for us to rethink

You see it's not the colour pink I hate

I hate what this came to represent

To be pink is to be weak; it's innate

Let's change this narrative, let's liberate

ourselves, let's move forward with intent.

So one day this fear of pink will abate

slam poetry
7

About the Creator

Melissa in the Blue

hold my hand and we can jump straight into the cold unloving sea

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • JT2 years ago

    Well done, I loved this line in particular: "I would hate if others started to think That I like pink flowers, pink pens, pink ink"

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.