Poets logo

~I'd Better Take Tonight!~

Poem/Song in memory & dedication to the life and times of singer/songwriter & legend KENNY ROGERS! (R.I.P.) I hope you all enjoy it!

By Jennifer CooleyPublished 2 years ago 2 min read
Like
~I'd Better Take Tonight!~
Photo by Christian Wiediger on Unsplash

~ I’d better take tonight!~

Kenny Rogers (RIP)

I’d better take tonight

To make it easier for her in the morning,

Timing is everything when you show how much you care!

You want them to bloom

And live on like a bright light

Glowing with the love you’ve shared!

Chorus

I’d better take tonight

To make it easier for her in the morning.

We have no way of avoiding when our time in this life is over,

So the place that your love takes hold in, with those you know your

Memory will live on in,

Must be treated with care

Delicately like soft new petals of fresh blooming roses…

So they can keep on smiling as you

Hold their memory in your heart,

As you take this perfect moment

And opportunity to part!

That smile pictured in your mind

As you close your eyes for the last time,

And take that final breath,

Knowing they will rest easy in your arms being carried through

The rough patch in the memories,

From all the good times you’ve shared together!

The heart carries on in every beat

Of those who feel the love as they take care in the strength

Of the heart to live on.

Which is all you ever wanted

For them from the start!

Chorus (2nd kind)

I’d better take tonight to make it easier

For her in the morning.

Sitting by your side with her head laid on the edge of the bed,

Her hand holding on to yours lightly,

Heavily sedated to stop the tears

Fighting to get thru all of this

Proudly for you!

For when the moment comes,

When they realize you’re gone

They don’t want you to see or hear them crying,

Yes, it’s in those final moments they want you to see someone strong,

Not the turbulence going on.

But even if you can’t speak

You know what’s going on

And the strength they bare,

Because you feel it.

And your prayer is for them

To share it,

The glow that lives on in the years and decades

Of the life you built

And lived thru together!

So make the choice in your mind,

That the right moment

Is when she’s at rest,

Letting heaven help her

When she wakes to bare it!

Chorus (3)

So I’d better take tonight

And leave her in heaven's care

In the morning!

So I’d better take tonight

To leave her to find these words

And this song

For me in the morning…

So

I’d better take tonight!

(This song was written the very day upon which I heard the announcement of his passing, from first word to last, I wrote without stopping, this is what he asked of me, so it is what he got, a song for him!) I hope one day to be able to share it with those he wishes to have the opportunity to read it! Amen!

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Jennifer Cooley

I've been writing as long as I could hold a crayon! Remember writing my first story like it was yesterday at 5. I remember the details of the day, location, time, excitement & where the story was preserved for all time! Lots Born From That!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.