Poets logo

I Could Write Poems About You

except for just this one

By Kay HusnickPublished 3 months ago 1 min read
7
I Could Write Poems About You
Photo by Timothy L Brock on Unsplash

I could write poems about you, whole collections of them so easily

it's killing me not to, but I won't

not yet, not now, not while I am still reigning in these emotions

while I still need them to be palatable,

to be casual and not too attached but still interested.

Now is too soon for poetry, too soon for the thoughts in my head, too soon for much of anything,

so I will not write poems about you,

not yet.

I will not write poems about you

regardless of how easy it would be,

effortless;

I will refrain

- except for just this one

fact or fictionlove poemsFree Verse
7

About the Creator

Kay Husnick

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Anna 3 months ago

    Another beautiful poem! Well done!🥰

  • As mystifyingly captivating as for me as the Carly Simon song "You're So Vain" which keeps repeating, "I bet you think this song is about you, don't you, don't you?" I mean, it is about them, isn't it? Just as yours is a protestation against writing such a poem even as you write it. Beautifully done, Kay.

  • Kendall Defoe 3 months ago

    Rather clever...and I would like another one!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.