Poets logo

I Care.

you will discover quickly my poetry comes from a moody place

By HufflecupPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1

I Care

I care so much.

There is so much to look at and say this isn’t right.

But I’m just one person.

I want to help, and I try.

I tell myself that I try and that’s all you can really do is try.

Maybe some of the pain will go away.

But am I talking about the pain of those around me or my own?

I care so much.

That’s just what you say.

Not caring isn’t easier.

Telling someone you care when you’re actually numb is the easiest thing in the world.

It’s just words.

Words that have the power to bend reality and alter someone’s perception of their own internal and external experiences

I’m impervious to that power words have over others.

Even now I can tell I’m feeling something standing here

But then the moment passes, and I breathe easy

I cared, and about myself no less.

I care so much.

And it terrifies me.

My chest is tight

My throat is raw

And I’m getting that itch

That itch that you scratch just to have some way to keep your hands occupied when you’re in an awkward situation

It’s kind of like an allergic reaction

I care so much.

and it’s gonna kill me.

Before I care enough to do it myself.

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Hufflecup

I want nothing more than to dedicate my life to writing, so I figured I would start here to test the waters. I will be submitting stories to as many communities as possible.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.