Poets logo

I Can't Sleep

A Poem

By Steven BaldryPublished 7 years ago 1 min read

I can’t sleep.

It’s been so long since I’ve been able to sleep...

I awake every night for in the silence I can’t keep...

My mind busy with all that I can during the day...

As I drift off it is you that haunts me again.

I keep on the go and focused with all there is to do.

But in the still of the night I lay awake and see only you.

As I toss and I turn and doubt all that I see.

I am lost within the darkness of your memory.

Slowly as I slip away I am in a place where I feel happy again...

Where everything glows as I knew it to be.

Where I used to sleep every night...

With you wrapped within me.

As I awake and I reach for your tender hand.

Reality hits me and again I cannot understand.

How you vanished, I was banished so immediately.

How my faith is so broken in all that’s meant to be.

As my heart beats so fast I feel it in my throat.

I cannot shake all you said to me especially when you said “Don’t”...

“Don’t ever doubt how I feel, I promise I will never hurt you”...

It took me so long to believe but how I believed in you.

In this silence I lay still as the distance between us now.

And I know that eventually I will get through this somehow.

All the feelings that I have mixed with all that was make my soul weep.

How I pray for release and a peace when I can sleep.

heartbreak

About the Creator

Steven Baldry

I have been writing Poetry since I was a teenager. Now in my late thirties I enjoy it more than ever. I find it a wonderful release and it helps me to free my mind and understand myself and my emotions.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Steven BaldryWritten by Steven Baldry

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.