Poets logo

"I can't" is weak

and hates to play

By The Mixed EditionPublished 5 months ago 1 min read
1

I never understood those words he’d say

when I would need his help or hand, or more.

Failure was a friend to him. I know

to win was disappointment’s only cure.

And win he would. The battle lost within

my mother years before her armour failed.

And even in his absence he would rule,

his prisoners parading crowns of shame.

Glowing in his strength he did become

a beacon, but of darkness. Blow by blow

his beaming shadow put out every star,

extinguishing our flames to fuel his own.

So stifling, the thickness of the burden,

until her silent scream at last escaped.

Please. Stop.

Enough.

So quiet that I almost did not hear her,

she came. I never thought she would. I saw

her floating through the gates before I heard it;

the gentle tap of freedom at the door.

If ‘I cant’ is weak and hates to play,

still it dances round and round my mind,

smiling like the child I never could be

but always knew was just a smile away.

I am not weak. I do not hate. I play,

I love, I shine. I’m not like you. I’m free.

All I ever wanted was a daddy,

and even now, I don’t know if you saw.

Could I have been invisible? I wonder

if I was ever really there at all.

heartbreakinspirationalFamily
1

About the Creator

The Mixed Edition

Mother. Daughter. Sister. Teacher. Writer. Survivor.

Wearing so many hats gets heavy.

All my life, I've felt unheard; my voice didn't matter. I tried to be someone I wasn't, squeezing into a mould that just wasn't me.

Finally, I'm here.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.