Poets logo

I Am Universe

Becoming She

By Auriel BernsteinPublished 6 years ago 2 min read
Like

My body is not a war-zone

Yes this is a temple but I do not house soldiers

Our meal times are not made of condensed soup cans

Our meal time are created from our prayerful song joining

As one

Ebbing and flowing

My body is not a war-zone.

My body is the ocean.

It comes in waves, pulled by the moon

Luna combs through my hair with her fingertips.

It will grow

She whispers as I dream

My body is not a war-zone

Even though I have fought from inside of it

This body is a holy land

Men travel far to reach these temple gates

To find shelter

To find religion

To find God

My body is not a war-zone.

My body is an experience

My body is not an amusement park

My body is the thrill of finding fear behind the questionable safety of the wiggly bar they will place in front of your lap as you ride my curves

Looping.

My body is the endless curve of a mandala being drawn by crone woman hands

My body is art.

My body is the result of a chemical reaction my parents referred to as love

My body is not a war-zone

These scars are not from any battles I fought

These scars are from the times I called God by a man’s name

When I should have used my own

My body is God expressing herself in the human form

My body is the color of rain, the color of freshly whetted mud.

My body is the echo of bird song bouncing through forested holy lands

My body

My body

My body

This flesh is a temple in which I celebrate

My mealtimes are condensed into the 24 hours a day in which I prayerfully sing

I am the men wandering the vastness of dry holy lands to find

God

I am the bird song echoing in the paradise of unfurling leaves and strong wood

I am the ocean

Ebbing and flowing

I am Luna, I am hope, I comb through your hair and whisper to you as you dream

I am the stars that lull you to sleep and ignite your wakefulness

I am the universe.

The universe

This is my body and it is the universe expressing itself in the human form.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.