Poets logo

I am They

Gender is a construct

By Steph RuffPublished 4 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - January 2024
12
I am They
Photo by pedro silva on Unsplash

Hear the ripples

that scream into waves;

the fireflies

that blind in the night.

Buried in silence

the wind carries their song.

They dance between shadows

and kill between moments;

Time does not stand alone.

Crackles of the mist

drowned by fog so thick

it suffocates everyone

not asleep so sound.

Footsteps and grabbing hands,

bones broken,

Reshapen,

Lives collapsed and restarted.

Do you know the beasts that lair beneath?

Do you know the souls battled for centuries?

Do you know the fabrics of space, the friendship of time, the hidden reality between space time?

I do.

They are me.

I am them.

They are they and they am I.

Free Verse
12

About the Creator

Steph Ruff

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Anna 3 months ago

    Congrats on Top Story!🥳

  • Toby Heward4 months ago

    Truly makes one think

  • ROCK 4 months ago

    Wow! This was tormentingly beautiful ❤️

  • Bew4 months ago

    Your compelling and skillfully written story kept me eagerly anticipating the next developments, skillfully blending emotions and suspense for a truly captivating experience. I'd appreciate it if you could also take a moment to read my work!

  • Test4 months ago

    Thumbs up for your effort! Keep the outstanding work—congrats!

  • Babs Iverson4 months ago

    Beautiful & loving it!!!♥️♥️💕

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.